Have a Media Inquiry?

Contact Emilie Ritter Saunders, Communications Director

  • 406-444-3160
  • 406-546-3725 (cell)

Your gateway to more information, one-on-one interviews with our experts, and more.

Questions or concerns about this webpage?
Please contact the OPI Help Desk at opihelpdesk@mt.gov or 406.444.0087


Montana College and Career Readiness Standards Commission

The Montana College and Career Readiness Standards Commission includes representatives from K-12, higher education, state agencies, and businesses to advise the Superintendent of Public Instruction on academic standards and best practices to prepare our students to succeed in college, the military and careers.

The commission has been a sounding board for raising Montana’s academic standards in English, math, art, health enhancement, physical education and science. The commission has also approved frameworks for college and career readiness.

Commission Members
Curtis Bobbitt Professor of English, University of Great Falls
Dan Carter  Public & Government Affairs Manager, ExxonMobil
John Cech Deputy Commissioner for Two-Year and Community College Education, Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education
Caitlin Chiller     President, Montana Association of Teachers of English Language Arts
Scott Dubbs President, Montana Association for Supervision of Curriculum & Development
Dennis Fitzpatrick  CEO, Siyeh Corporation
Mike Halligan President, Phyllis & Dennis Washington Foundation
Karen Hedglin Program Manager, McKinstry
Roger Holt Executive Director, PLUK (Parents, Let's Unite for Kids)
Anne Keith Instructional Coach, Bozeman Public Schools
Cresswell Kelly Vice-President of Foundation Activities, Reach Higher Montana
Tammy Lacey Superintendent, Great Falls Public Schools
Dee Maclean Advocacy Chair, Montana PTA
Margaret Bowman President, S&K Global Solutions
Kathy Pfister Chair, School Administrators of Montana
Melissa Romano President Elect, Montana Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Smillie Siri  Education Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor
Sabrina Steketee Chair, Montana School Board Association
Diana Tavary Family Support Specialist, PLUK (Parents, Let's Unite for Kids)
Bill Tietz President Emeritus, Montana State University